top of page

ACU Honors Arkansas Legislators For Defending Liberty

Updated: Apr 13

Last week, the American Conservative Union unveiled its “2013 State Legislative Rankings Guide” for Arkansas. In their report, ACU recognized several Arkansas lawmakers for defending liberty in the legislature.

As part of their calculations, ACU scored Rep. Bruce Westerman’s government spending cap bill, the bill to fund Big River Steel through bonds, the “church carry” bill, the “private option,” the voter ID bill, and a few others.

Based on those votes, these legislators were named “Defenders of Liberty,” receiving a perfect 100% from the group:

Senators Cecile Bledsoe, Jim Hendren, Bart Hester, and Bryan King; Representatives Nate Bell, Jim Dotson, Charlotte Douglas, Kim Hammer, Justin Harris, Debbie Hobbs, Lane Jean, David Meeks, Stephen Meeks, Josh Miller, Bruce Westerman, and Richard Womack.

A second group of legislators were also recognized as “ACU Conservatives” for scoring 80% or higher and a third group was recognized as “True Liberals of the Natural State.” for scoring 0%You can read ACU’s full report here. Also, be sure you stay tuned to in early December, we will be announcing Advance Arkansas Institute’s new Freedom Scorecard. The report will score many of the same bills that are in ACU’s report — and dozens more. You won’t want to miss it!

0 views0 comments


bottom of page